It’s Not Burnt, It’s Cajun!

29 May

It’s kind of funny that I remember saying this to my mom all the time when I was younger! I’m almost positive I burn a lot more food than she ever did and she did it a lot. She always said she wanted to make sure it was done…
I can’t use that excuse for grilled cheese šŸ˜.

I’m pretty sure it was done and it definitely wasn’t Cajun. I quickly removed most of the blackened burnt toast particles with a few swift flicks of my wrist as I had done and seen my mother do many times before and went on making lunch for the kids. I got to thinking though… Is the burnt stuff on this toast as bad for us as the black lines on grilled meat we talked about in What’s Good Isn’t Always Good For You?

I couldn’t spend too much time thinking about it because I still needed to find something for me to eat for lunch outside with the kids. As I continued making grill cheese sandwiches for the kids I considered eating one myself. I don’t recall my mother ever making grilled cheese sandwiches for me it probably isn’t something she has ever made. I believe my kids may have had their first grilled cheese sandwich at a Denny’s! Then one day my oldest started making them herself.

I have made very few grilled cheese sandwiches in my life until recently and I do find them tasty but didn’t think I should eat one. It seems to be the only thing I can really count on the little kids to happily ear for lunch lately. There was still the question of what to make for myself. I longed for leftovers from last nights Chipotle Chicken dinner but there wasn’t any. I dreamed of sushi salad but we didn’t have any cucumbers or carrots left. Finally, I decided to make a Jimmy Dean Southern Style Chicken Biscuit (which is apparently supposed to be for breakfast) and a salad. To make up for my lack luster lunch I grabbed a V8 Fusion drink.

Perhaps we should have tossed the burnt grilled cheese sandwich just to be on the safe side according to Doctor Oz’s article on Toxic Toast Do you eat your burnt toast or toss it?

Leave a comment

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

challenge: january 2014

fitness, fun & faith in me

Gluten Free Gus

Baking Joy Into Every Gluten-free Bite

Butterfly Mind

Creative Nonfiction by Andrea Badgley

KC Bakes

Exploring Cake Pops & Beyond!