What’s good, isn’t always good for you

23 May

Every now and then my husband has a craving for something I don’t make very often that he really likes. Like most of the population its usually something that isn’t good for you. This time it was ribs.
20130522-185745.jpg

I obliged because he says I make the best ribs. Who can say no to that! My rib success is not my own however. All the credit goes to Tony Roma’s and a book I picked up awhile back called Top Secret Restaurant Recipes.

So this is how the story goes, I am one of the millions addicted to Candy Crush, if you haven’t played it yet go now! What are you waiting for?

20130522-184433.jpg
Anyways… the point of my tangent was I spent time playing Candy Crush when I should have been making the barbecue sauce to marinate the ribs overnight so he could enjoy them for dinner today. I was so tired I didn’t want to spend another hour in the kitchen. I really just wanted to go to sleep. However, I finally got the sauce made wrapped them in foil and stuck them in the refrigerator at 1 am so they could at least marinate for around 12 hours. That’s love and procrastination at work!

Here’s how they looked just before grilling, slathered in sauce…20130522-193757.jpg
The fun part of this story is that lately my husband has been learning about all the food items I have been telling him to avoid for years. This is what he sent me this afternoon http://dreamhealer.wordpress.com/2013/05/16/processed-meats-declared-too-dangerous-for-human-consumption. Then he tells me we should only eat fish and chicken which I have been saying for years now! I love him and want to keep him around and healthy for years to come, so I’m glad he’s finally come to this conclusion. I just wish it was before I invested so much time, money and energy into making a meal I can’t even eat. Hopefully we will be having more healthy meals as time goes on.

By the way, in case you didn’t know those tasty black lines we make when we grill our food are also carcinogenic.

If you still want to make these ribs here’s a link to the recipe that I found online. It tells you how to make the sauce. In the book Todd Wilbur gives excellent detailed instructions on marinating, slow cooking and grilling these presumably tasty ribs. I had never made ribs before this recipe so I found it very useful. You may be able to find it somewhere else on line I haven’t searched for it personally since I already have the book. Happy grilling (in moderation)!

Be careful what you eat…

One Response to “What’s good, isn’t always good for you”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It’s Not Burnt, It’s Cajun! | recipe2reality - May 29, 2013

    […] I’m pretty sure it was done and it definitely wasn’t Cajun. I carefully removed most of the blackened burnt toast with a few swift flicks of my wrist and went on making lunch for the kids. I got to thinking though… Is the burnt stuff on this toast as bad for us as the black lines on grilled meat we talked about in What’s Good Isn’t Always Good For You? […]

Leave a Reply

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

challenge: january 2014

fitness, fun & faith in me

Gluten Free Gus

Baking Joy Into Every Gluten-free Bite

Fearless Food + Fitness

Be fearless. Be fit. Be free.

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Butterfly Mind

Creative Nonfiction by Andrea Badgley

KC Bakes

Exploring Cake Pops & Beyond!

