The Ridiculousness of Roasting

27 May

Roasting is a ridiculously long way to cook but usually very simple since you can just set it and forget it for the most part. The ridiculous part is finding the right recipe for the right cut of beef so it turns out flavorful, not to dry and not too tough.

Unfortunately, it seems like most beef roasts are only supposed to be cooked to medium or medium rare. I happen to prefer my meat well done or at least medium well. Basically, no traces of the fact that my meal was once alive, kicking, breathing, walking around and what not.

I have been doing a lot of meal panning based on what meats are on sale lately so I have been roasting different cuts of beef and trying to find the perfect recipe. For some reason I never seem to have the right ingredients so this time I used a recipe as a guide and tried to wing it! I found the recipe for Roast Eye of Round With Marsala Wine Marinade 3 ways and thought I had a winner! It was the right cut of beef and I had most of the ingredients on hand except the Marsala wine. My plan was to substitute it with a Burgundy cooking wine. when I finally went to marinate the roast I decided I wanted to use a different recipe that was specific to Burgundy since it is what I had on hand. I poured the Burgundy in the pot to follow the directions of another recipe (we’ll have to try later) only to find that the Burgundy cooking wine had gone bad. I looked through the cabinet for Burgundy or a Marsala to no avail. Finally, I gave up and used a sherry cooking wine for the Eye of Round With Marsala Wine 3 Ways recipe. I also used Mrs. Dash Lemon Pepper to replace the lemon rind and pepper in the recipe. It looked great marinating!

In the beginning there was a roast! #eyeofroundroast #r2r #roasting #food #foodie #looksdelish #beef

A post shared by recipe2reality (@recipe2reality) on

I followed the standard method which required searing the roast on all sides after marinating for a few hours.

Then it was seared… #eyeofroundroast #beef #roasting #food #foodie #r2r #1sttime

A post shared by recipe2reality (@recipe2reality) on

The recipe says to place it back in the dish but doesn’t specify what to do with the marinade. I chose to dunk the roast and make sure it was all covered in the leftover marinade. Then I added some extra garlic on top (because I’m a garlic junky) along with some other bits of seasoning I scooped out of the marinade.

I placed the pan back in the preheated oven (with the marinade) and cooked it for the recommended amount of time.

What a beauty! So juicy! #gnamgnamgnam #food #foodie #yum #nofilter #eyeofroundroast #beef #roast #roasting #r2r

A post shared by recipe2reality (@recipe2reality) on

Isn’t she a beauty! I made baked potatoes, popcorn shrimp and a broccoli, cauliflower, carrot veggie mix. It was a very filling dinner even though I skipped the baked potato.

One #delish #dish! #eyeofroundroast #veggies #popcornshrimp #food #foodie #nomnomnom #yum #homemade #juicy

A post shared by recipe2reality (@recipe2reality) on

I will definitely be trying this recipe again with Marsala. I’m assuming the marinade was supposed to be used as a sauce once it was done cooking but it was so juicy I didn’t think about it. I did wind up eating most of mine with A1 Steak sauce since I’m just not a big fan of roast. What is your go to family pleasing roast recipe? This was good but I’m still trying to find mine.

Leave a Reply

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

challenge: january 2014

fitness, fun & faith in me

Gluten Free Gus

Baking Joy Into Every Gluten-free Bite

Fearless Food + Fitness

Be fearless. Be fit. Be free.

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Butterfly Mind

Creative Nonfiction by Andrea Badgley

KC Bakes

Exploring Cake Pops & Beyond!

