Happy Mother’s Day blah, blah, blah

12 May

Once upon a time Mother’s Day was an exciting fanciful time. It consisted of spending time with all the lovely women in my extended family and a delicious brunch.

20130513-014134.jpg
Then something happened, I’m not sure what but suddenly and inexplicably it sucked. Well maybe not suddenly. I’m sure it has been a slow but gradual boil like cooking a frog but I realize the water is hot now and I want out!!!

First of all I have been sick every Mother’s Day for multiple years in a row now (I’m so sick of being sick). That ruins my mood from the beginning because when my family asks what I want to do on what is supposed to be my special day as the matriarch all I want to do is stay in bed all day and have someone take care of me for a change. Boring, and no one takes you seriously when you ask for that (believe me I’ve tried).

The next thing that bugs me is it’s supposed to be my special day, moms spend most of their lives planning, instructing and directing can’t someone else orchestrate things for one day?

If you really have to ask the only thing on my list of things to do on Mother’s Day is go to a delicious brunch like I did with my mom when I was a little kid. Relax and enjoy some time with my family.

Now achieving this simple request has been quite a hurtle the last few years because first of all I never think of it until Mother’s Day gets here! Secondly, my kids are kids… I wish they could find away to not get themselves in trouble and get along with each other just for one day. The odds are against me though with five kids someone’s always liable to screw things up for everyone else involved. I don’t think there is a single thing all 7 of us agree on except that we like sushi (or rolls to be exact)! I wish there was a Benihana near by!

20130515-133614.jpg

Then just like Valentine’s Day and Christmas there’s this whole forced, coerced part that I hate!!! I mean really hate. If I want to get somebody something to show them how much I love and care for them that’s great. If I happen to stumble across the perfect gift for someone that’s great. However, when you are forced to go through a shopping list worth of people and try to match a gift to each of them so their feelings won’t be hurt and they won’t think poorly of you I have a problem. I have my mom, step-mom, mother-in-law…the list goes on and on from there. I’m glad I have such wonderful women still alive and in my life to honor but it would be better if I didn’t feel like I had to. Maybe it’s just me, I’m a little jaded I guess since I wasn’t raised with a lot of gift giving. This is how I feel about all holidays that are tied to gift giving (except my birthday of course😉).

20130513-020153.jpg
I really love my mother. She is an amazing woman and as I grow older I respect and understand the choices she has had to make throughout her life. I may not agree with them but I understand them. She was a single mother and did the best she could. I have always had a hard time finding the right card for her. They don’t exactly have one that says “roses are red, your house is so clean, I really just wish you weren’t so mean…” or “thanks for all the turmoil it makes me appreciate peace even more” or how about “you’re not the best but you’re my mom and I love you for it keep on keeping on”. Ha, ha! I suppose I’m being a bit harsh but that’s definitely how I felt as a teenager and for many years after that. Even if those kinds of cards did exist I don’t think anyone should purchase them but buying your mom a Mother’s Day card that praises her for being the best most holy thing on earth is a bit of a stretch when you don’t really feel that way. This makes finding a card for my mom take forever! Where do you find a Mother’s day card for your stepmom? How do you make sure she doesn’t get a nicer card then your actual mom even if she’s a lot easier to get along with. Then there are the in-laws and other extended family members. What if you haven’t really connected? You get along you’re nice to each other but you don’t feel connected. As the designated gift giver of the household how do you figure out what to get for these obligatory gifts? I finally got smart and started making electronic “cards” mostly pictures of the kids who wouldn’t appreciate that! At least I don’t feel like I’m waisting money or sending anyone useless junk.

However, I’m usually done with Mother’s Day before it even gets here… Am I the only one or can I join an anti-Mother’s Day group just like the single people on Valentine’s Day and go have a pressure free good time!

Leave a Reply

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

challenge: january 2014

fitness, fun & faith in me

Gluten Free Gus

Baking Joy Into Every Gluten-free Bite

Fearless Food + Fitness

Be fearless. Be fit. Be free.

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Butterfly Mind

Creative Nonfiction by Andrea Badgley

KC Bakes

Exploring Cake Pops & Beyond!

