A Lighter Version of Artichoke Spinach Dip

19 Jul

My husband and my eldest love artichoke spinach dip. I refused to buy it in the jar for years due to all the unnecessary ingredients. I told my oldest for almost a year that I would make some for her. Then I purchased Top Secret Recipes which happened to have a recipe for Olive Garden’s Spinach Artichoke dip. I made it and they loved it! A little too much it was very time consuming to prepare. Cooking the spinach and what not. I tried using the vita mix and the magic bullet to speed up the process but they ruined the consistency and the texture. Then I decided there was way too much fat in the Olive Gardens Spinach Artichoke Recipe so I tried the Hot Spinach and Artichoke Dip Recipe from Skinny Taste.

20120719-203223.jpg

20120719-203303.jpg

It looks amazing but the missing fat was probably what gave the dip the flavor my family was looking for. I can’t describe it myself since its not something I ate. I didn’t tell them it was supposed to be healthier until after they gave me confused looks of bewilderment. I’m going to assume the mayo, Greek yogurt and Parmigiano Reggiano have to be of the correct flavor to boost this dish up to the level of Olive Garden’s which is based on a block of cream cheese and a whole lot of Parmesan. I may give it another go someday using different brands of cheese etc but for now I must stick with the Top Secret Recipes Olive Garden version and only serve it on occasion. Luckily, I found quite a few other recipes on the Skinny Taste site that I have been able to use! What’s your favorite Skinny Taste recipe?

Leave a Reply

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

challenge: january 2014

fitness, fun & faith in me

Gluten Free Gus

Baking Joy Into Every Gluten-free Bite

Fearless Food + Fitness

Be fearless. Be fit. Be free.

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Butterfly Mind

Creative Nonfiction by Andrea Badgley

KC Bakes

Exploring Cake Pops & Beyond!

