Experimentation Gone Ary

2 Mar

I started with the usual suspects for a gluten free, egg free, dairy free loaf of bread.
20120302-122427.jpg

I picked up this box of Gluten free Pantry’s Favorite sandwich bread during my last shopping spree. I decided to try it last night using Almondmilk for the liquid, Ener-G egg replacer, and coconut oil in my bread maker. I was hoping the coconut oil and almond milk would help to produce a slightly sweeter loaf of bread. It wasn’t until I already started the process that I remembered that almond milk might not be the best thing to bake with. Earlier in the week I had attempted to use it to make a bowl of instant oatmeal and was not pleased with the results. In fact that bowl of slop had gone directly in the trash.

I’m not sure if the bread turned out the way it did due to the bread maker or the ingredients. I’ll have to try it again to see what happens. I believe it may have been a combination of method and ingredients that lead to my downfall. I would guess that choosing to use almond milk instead of water was my first mistake. Coconut oil may have been the second since it solidifies easily at lower temperatures. Finally, the directions say to use the gluten-free setting on your bread maker which mine didn’t have. I also attempted to follow the direction to scrape down the sides and help with the first kneading cycle but I clearly didn’t have the slightest idea what shape it should have been in once I finished helping.

20120303-032435.jpg

Leave a Reply

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

challenge: january 2014

fitness, fun & faith in me

Gluten Free Gus

Baking Joy Into Every Gluten-free Bite

Fearless Food + Fitness

Be fearless. Be fit. Be free.

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Butterfly Mind

Creative Nonfiction by Andrea Badgley

KC Bakes

Exploring Cake Pops & Beyond!

